How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

BY Published
How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

Instagram is one of the most widely used and popular social media platform worldwide. This platform is easy to use, efficient, and simple to create an account on. But, what about when you want to permanently delete your Instagram account?

You might want to get rid of your Instagram account because you want to start fresh, get too distracted by it, quit all social media, or many other reasons. Well, worry no more because Instagram lets you do so. You can permanently delete your Instagram account using the web version of the app.

If you are unaware of how to permanently delete your Instagram account, keep reading this article to find out the solution to your problems.

How to Download Instagram Data?

The first thing you must remember to do if you are a regular user who loved their Instagram account is recovering your data before deleting your account. You can download all the data from your Instagram account containing your photos, message records, posts, and everything else. To download your Instagram data before your delete your account, follow the given steps:

1. Open Instagram and log into your account.

2. Tap on your ‘Profile’ icon.

How to Download Instagram Data?

3. Click on the ‘Settings’ gear icon.

How to Download Instagram Data?

4. Select ‘Privacy and Security’ option.

How to Download Instagram Data?

5. Scroll down and click on the ‘Request Download’ button below Data Download.

How to Download Instagram Data?

6. Select the format you want the data in and click on ‘Next’.

How to Download Instagram Data?

7. Enter your password to verify and click on ‘Request Download’.

How to Download Instagram Data?

You will receive the downloaded data of your account in your email address within 14 days. Once you are done, you can proceed to permanently delete your Instagram account.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

One thing you must remember when you proceed to permanently delete your Instagram account is that once you do so, in 30 days, it will be like your account never even existed. All your posts, data, messages, and memories will be completely erased from the platform. Make sure that you use it from the web to permanently delete your Instagram account. In order to permanently delete your Instagram account, follow the given steps:

1. Open Instagram from the web and log into your account.

2. Now, go to ‘Delete Your Account page from the Instagram help center.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

3. Select the reason from the drop-down menu why you wish to delete the account.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

4. Enter your password to verify.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

5. Click on ‘Delete’ button.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

6. Click on ‘Ok’ to confirm the deletion.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

Your account will be scheduled for permanent deletion. Your account will be permanently deleted after 30 days. So, make sure that you login and reactivate it within a 30 days period if you wish to keep that account.

You might also be interested in How to Delete Account on Messenger?

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

If you are only thinking of taking a break from Instagram, deactivating your account is a much better option than deleting your account. When you deactivate your account, you can leave it so for as long as you want and only log in when you are ready to use the app no matter how long. To deactivate an Instagram account, follow the given below:

1. Open Instagram and log into your account.

2. Click on your ‘Profile’ icon.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

3. Click on the ‘Edit Profile’ option you see.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

4. Scroll below and select ‘Temporarily deactivate my account’ option.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

5. Select the reason you are deactivating and your password to verify.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

6. Click on ‘Temporarily Deactivate Account’.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

7. Click on ‘Yes’ to confirm.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account?

Your Instagram account gets disabled for the time being. You can log into it using your Instagram username and password at any time and reactivate your account.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can I recover my Instagram account after deletion?

If it has been less than 30 days since you deleted your Instagram account, you will be allowed to recover it by logging in using your username and password. However, if the time has exceeded 30 days, your account gets permanently deleted and you will not be able to use that account again.

How to delete Instagram account from the phone?

The process to delete Instagram account from your phone as well as your computer device is similar. Make sure that you are using Instagram on the web and not the app version. Read the article above to find out the steps to follow.

How to reactivate Instagram account?

To reactivate your Instagram account after deactivating it or, within 30 days of scheduled deletion, launch Instagram on the app or web and enter your username and password to log in. Once you have logged in successfully, your Instagram account gets reactivated.

Conclusion

Hence, by using the steps mentioned above in the article, you can now permanently delete your Instagram account. If you are only looking to catch a break, it is suggested that you deactivate it instead. If you are looking to get rid of the account seriously, it is recommended that you download the data first and then proceed with the deletion process.

Hope this article was helpful and cleared your doubts. Feel free to leave comments in case of any queries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *