How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides?

BY Updated
How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides

How to delete messages on Instagram from both sides when you’ve made the mistake of sending the wrong message to the wrong person?

Have you ever been in a situation when what you thought was a good explanation didn’t turn out so well in a message? And you’ve already managed to press the send button?

Thankfully, Instagram has its features to help reverse it, literally.

Can you delete Instagram messages so they can’t be recovered?

Yes, you can. To know how to do that, you will have to continue reading because we tell you just how, right below.

How to delete messages on Instagram from both sides?

Yes, you heard it. You need to unsend the message.

Both iPhone and Android users do it the same way. What you need to do is

Via Instagram App  

1. Open the Instagram app, open the conversation with the text message you want to delete and press it for a while.

How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides

2. Select unsend and you are done.

The only thing different when you are using a web browser on any phone or any other device is that you have you log in to their website if you haven’t downloaded the app on the device already.

After opening Instagram in your browser, the steps are just the same as what you’d do on your phone.

Does this mean you can delete other people’s messages on Instagram?

No, you can’t. You will have to delete the entire conversation to delete other people’s messages. It is all in or all out when it comes to the messages people send you.

You can unsend the message you sent or delete all of your conversations. Nothing in between.

How do you delete a whole conversation on Instagram?

Just a few things less than unsending a message.

Just open your Instagram app or the website if you are using it on a web browser, and press the conversation you want to delete for a moment (this time be extra careful that you’ve chosen the right conversation because once you delete the conversation, you cannot undo it).

How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides

Then you click the delete option and voila.

Done, once more.

If you have more than one conversation to delete then you will have to repeat the process for each of the conversations.

A little note. Deleting an entire conversation only deletes the message from your side, not theirs. They will be able to see the messages from their side until they delete them themselves too.

Will blocking someone on Instagram delete messages?

You’d think yes, but actually, it’s a no.

The other person will not be able to contact you any further, but your previous chat history will remain. Unless they delete the entire conversation from their part too.

Another question that pops into your mind is if you delete a conversation on Instagram, does the other person know?

If you send them a text, they will receive a notification. So, if they happen to open the message before you unsend it, then they will figure out that you unsent the text message.

Those who haven’t tried the unsend feature might think it is a technical glitch.

So, the bottom line is that for as long as they do not see your message or its notification and open it, they will not find out if you unsent a message.

An entire conversation is a bigger umbrella, that naturally, the other person will not know if you deleted it as well.

Final thoughts

If you sent a message by accident or didn’t like what you send them, unsend is the way to make its trace disappear.

These were some of the tips and tricks to delete messages on Instagram from both sides. If this helped, let us know in the comments.

Also Read:

How To Add Location On Instagram Bio?

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest tech news, tips & tricks, and tech reviews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *