How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

BY Published
How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

LinkedIn is one of the most popular platform worldwide for job seekers and professionals. This platform is like a big bowl of opportunity but, it can also be quite intimidating to some of us. Some people may find LinkedIn not very useful and a lot of work as well and get rid of this app once and for all. Well, in those cases, you can delete LinkedIn account.

When you delete your LinkedIn account, all you data you have ever stored on the platform will be deleted along with your profile information, followers, endorsements as well as group memberships and those data will not be recovered once your account gets permanently deleted. So, it is better to download your data before you decide to quit the app.

If you are looking to delete LinkedIn account and are having problems figuring the steps out, worry no more because, with this article, we have you covered.

How to Download Data on LinkedIn?

As you will not be able to recover any form of data after 14 days of deletion of your account. It is suggested to download your data so that you can access all information on your account anytime you want to.

To download data on LinkedIn, click on your Profile icon. Then, go to Settings>Data Privacy>Get a Copy of Your Data. From there, you will be able to download your data on LinkedIn. This feature is only available in the desktop version of the app.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

The first and most important thing you should remember when looking to delete LinkedIn account is that you can reactivate your account if you log into it within 2 weeks. If you change your mind later than that, all your data will be permanently cleared from the LinkedIn database and you will not be able to access it. You can delete LinkedIn account by:

1. Using Phone

2. Using PC

1. Using Phone

To delete LinkedIn account by using your phone i.e. LinkedIn phone app, follow the given steps:

1. Open the LinkedIn app and log into your account.

2. Tap on your ‘Profile icon’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

3. Click on ‘Settings’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

4. Select ‘Account Preferences’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

5. Scroll to the end and click on ‘Close account’ option.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

6. Select ‘Continue’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

7. Choose your reason and tap ‘Next’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

8. Enter your password and select ‘Done’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

9. Your account will be closed.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

In this way, you can delete your LinkedIn account.

2. Using PC

To delete LinkedIn account using your PC or, the LinkedIn web app, follow the given steps:

1. Open LinkedIn and log into your account.

2. Tap on your ‘Profile icon’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

3. Click on ‘Settings’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

4. Under Account preferences, select ‘Account Management’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

5. Click on ‘Close account’ option.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

6. Choose your reason and tap ‘Next’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

7. Enter your password and select ‘Close account’.

How to Delete LinkedIn Account?

Your account will be closed and you will now have 14 days exactly to recover your account.

How to Re-open my LinkedIn account?

Now that you have learned how to delete your LinkedIn account, learning how to reopen it is a crucial part since you might change your mind. Do not forget that you can only recover your account within 14 days of closing it. After that no matter how much your try, it cannot be undone. You will have to make a new account. Here is how you can re-open your LinkedIn account within 14 days:

1. Open LinkedIn and enter your username and password and log in.

How to Re-open my LinkedIn account?

2. Select ‘Yes, Reactivate’ option to reactivate your account.

How to Re-open my LinkedIn account?

3. When your account is ready, you will receive a mail in Gmail. Open and confirm it.

How to Re-open my LinkedIn account?

4. Your LinkedIn account will have been activated again.

In this way, you can re-open your LinkedIn account.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What happens to your data after closing LinkedIn account?

Your data along with all the posts, messages, and everything gets deleted when you close your LinkedIn account. If you do not want that to happen, either recover your data before leaving or, log into your account within 14 days of deletion.

How to Deactivate LinkedIn account?

On Phone: Open linked in and click on your Profile icon. Then, go to Settings>Account Preferences>Hibernate account. Select your reason for deactivating your account and confirm it by entering your password and then selecting Hibernate.

On PC: Open linked in and click on your Profile icon. Then, go to Settings>Account Management>Hibernate account. Select your reason for deactivating your account and confirm it by entering your password and then selecting Hibernate.

Conclusion

Hence, by using the steps mentioned above, you can easily delete LinkedIn account. If you are looking to leave the platform surely, delete it otherwise, it is wiser to deactivate the account and let it stay hidden and only open it when you want to.

Hope this article was helpful and cleared your doubts. Feel free to leave comments in case of any queries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *