How to Delete Account on Messenger?

Facebook Messenger is a platform provided by Meta that is exclusively used for chatting and communication purposes. Your messenger account is directly connected to your Facebook account. So, when you delete account on Messenger, you will not be able to do so without deleting your Facebook account.

Deleting account on Messenger deletes all your years of shared pictures, chats and other things. So, if you only want to take a break, deactivating messenger can also be used. To do either of those, you will have to delete or deactivate your Facebook account because as mentioned earlier, they are interconnected.

If you are having confusion on how to do so, worry no more because in this article, we will teach you how to delete account on Messenger.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

If your messenger account was created using your Facebook, you will have delete it in order to delete messenger as well. As messenger is a depended chatting platform, all your details and workings are internally connected to Facebook. You can delete account on Messenger by:

1. Open Messenger app and click on your ‘Profile icon’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

2. Scroll down and click on ‘Account Settings’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

3. Tap on ‘Account Ownership and Control’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

4. Click on ‘Deactivation and Deletion’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

5. Click on ‘Continue to Facebook account deactivation and deletion’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

6. Click on ‘Delete Account’ then tap on continue.

7. Click on ‘Continue to Account Deletion’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

8. Scroll down and click on ‘Delete Account’.

How to Delete Account on Messenger?

Your account will have been scheduled for permanent deletion and your messenger account will have been deleted as well. If you change your mind later on, you can recover your account within 30 days. After 30 days, your account will have been deleted permanently. In this way, you can delete account on Messenger.

You can also download the data if you want to before deleting your account.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

If you are only looking to taking a break from Facebook and delete account on Messenger permanently, want it to disappear for some time, you can deactivate it instead. Deactivating your account will not delete any data, still making it invisible for anyone to access your account. You can open and use your account anytime you prefer by reactivating it. To do so first you have to deactivate Facebook:

1. Open Facebook and go to ‘Settings’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

2. Click on Personal Account and Information>Account Ownership and Control.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

3. Click on ‘Deactivation and Deletion’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

4. Choose ‘Deactivate Account’ option and tap on ‘Continue’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

5. Choose your reason and hit ‘Continue’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

6. Click on ‘Deactivate my account‘.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

Now, to deactivate Messenger,

1. Open Messenger app and click on your ‘Profile icon’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

2. Scroll down and click on ‘Legal and Policies’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

3. Tap on ‘Deactivate Messenger’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

4. Enter your password and click on ‘Continue’.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

5. Click on ‘Deactivate‘.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

6. Your messenger account will have been deactivated.

How to Deactivate Messenger?

In this way, you can temporarily delete a Facebook account. To reactivate your account and be able to use it back, just go to Facebook and login with your email and password. Your account will be recovered just like it was before and nothing will have been affected.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can I delete account on messenger and keep Facebook?

No, as mentioned before, messenger is a part of your Facebook account. So, if you decide on deleting it, you will have to delete your entire Facebook account. So, instead you can deactivate it or uninstall it and only open Facebook if you don’t want to use it.

What happens when you delete Facebook permanently?

When you delete Facebook account, you can still recover it within 30 days. If you do not do so, after the 30 day time, all your data and account will get permanently deleted i.e. you will not be able to log into your account ever again and your friends and family will not find it as well.

If you are thinking of deleting messenger account due to frequent popping of messages and notifications especially from unnecessary groups you have been added to, you can instead leave or delete that group. To read more, click here: How to Delete a Group on Messenger?

Conclusion

Hence, by using the steps mentioned above, you can easily delete account on messenger. If you want to get back to using your account, just login with the details within 30 days. If you are only thinking of taking a break, it is better to deactivate your account.

Hope this article was helpful and cleared your doubts. Feel free to leave any comments in case of queries.

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Sign-up for our Newsletter Today

Latest Articles In The World of Technology & Internet.

Specialized newsletter for exclusive content regularly. We
hate spam.